Dairy-free (Variation), DIETARY NEEDS, Lactose-free (Variation), No-added-sugar, RECIPE TYPES, Savoury Meals, Sugar-free (Variation), VARIATIONS FOR

A Fish in Mexican Clothing? Spicy Fish Wraps

After fighting my way home through peak hour traffic, I wanted something quick and easy for dinner. I decided upon fish, but didn’t have any defrosted,  so I struck upon the idea of boiling it.  I know, boiled fish doesn’t sound very appetising, right? But, surprisingly, it turned out pretty delicious! I decided to chuck in some carrot and taco seasoning mix and it evolved into ‘Mexican Fish Wraps’, a novel concept, but quite tasty all the same.  I hope you enjoy. 🙂

Serves 1-2  (Enough for 2-4 wraps)

INGREDIENTS

  • 1  boneless frozen fish fillet (I used a ‘Just Caught’ Whiting fillet, because they’re wild caught and there’s zero other ingredients, just the fish itself, which suits me perfectly)
  • 1 medium carrot, grated
  • 1/2 red onion, very finely sliced
  • About 1/2 of a 30g packet of Taco Spice Mix, to taste (I used ‘Old El Paso’ brand for convenience, but you could make your own – see note below*)
  • About 1-2 cups water
  • 2-4 wraps (I used some evil store-bought ones I had in my freezer which I wanted to use up, but you could make your own or use some healthier ones – I normally use ‘Mountain Bread’ Natural Wraps as they contain only organic wheat flour, water and salt.)

Fresh salad toppings of your choice. I used:

  • Lettuce
  • Red capsicum, finely sliced
  • Cucumber, sliced
  • Tomato, diced
  • Pineapple pieces
  • OPTIONAL: Organic or lactose-free plain yoghurt to dollop on top

METHOD

  1. Place the fish fillet into a frying pan over low heat (you may need to snap it in half to make it fit) and add just enough water to almost cover it.
  2. Sprinkle a generous amount of the seasoning mix into the pan on top of the fish and splash water from the pan over the top so it all mixes together nicely (you don’t want any dry patches of seasoning).
  3. Grate the carrot and slice the onion and add to the pan, putting it around and over the fish, wherever it will fit.
  4. Continue to cook over medium-low heat until the fish is cooked, stirring gently from time to time (when the fish is cooked it will separate if you gently poke it).
  5. Once cooked, poke the fish to crumble it (as per above) and stir through the whole pan to evenly distribute it.
  6. Check that you are happy with the flavour of the dish and add more seasoning mix if you think it needs it (better to have a little too much than too little as the fish doesn’t have much flavour of it’s own).
  7. Continue to cook a little longer, until almost all the water has evaporated, and you are left with a slightly sloppy mound in the middle of the frying pan.
  8. Heat your wraps (or leave them cold if you prefer) and place one on each plate.
  9. Top with the lettuce, a big spoonful of the fish mix (about 1/4 of what you have if you’re making 4 wraps, or 1/2 if you’re going for 2 BIG ones) and the remainder of your chosen salad toppings.
  10. Put a small dollop of yoghurt on top if you like (I tried both with and without and liked both), then wrap and enjoy!

CAUTION: You’ll need a plate underneath to catch all the drips that escape as you enjoy your wrap – there’s a surprising lot of them, especially if you’ve added pineapple amongst your toppings!!     Also keep an eye out for fish bones – sometimes there’s still a few little ones in there, though I didn’t find any tonight.  But best to keep in mind if you’re planning to feed these to the kids. 🙂

VERDICT: The texture of the fish mixture whilst still in the frying pan was a little dubious – there’s a certain ‘mushiness’ to it that wouldn’t normally be the case with beef taco mix, but surprisingly once I added it to my wrap with all the other toppings, I couldn’t really tell much of a difference in taste between the two!  Perhaps if you’re a big beef eater (I’m not), you will find it much more obvious than I did, but otherwise I think you could probably sneak this one under the kids’ radar without them realising they were eating fish. 🙂

A note on wrapping your Spicy Mexican Fish creation:  I am a big fan of the ‘fold up the bottom, then fold over each side’ method. It traps the filling inside nicely and stops it falling out (for the most part).  Place the filling and toppings in the centre of the wrap in a rough oblong shape about 1/3 of the width of the wrap, from the top to about 2/3 of the way down.  Then fold the bottom of the wrap (the part without any filling on it), up over the bottom end of the filling, then fold in each side (the parts also without any filling on them) over the top of the filling and the bottom part you’ve already folded up.  You will end up with a nice neat bundle and your fillings should stay obediently inside whilst you enjoy your tasty treat.  (Oh, and I guess it goes without saying, but just to be sure, eat from the top down – the open end that’s not folded over).  That’s how I like to do it, but you can wrap yours however you like, of course! 🙂

*NOTE: I used a store-bought Taco Spice Mix in this recipe because I was short on time. But looking at the ingredients, I’m sure you could make your own that would be just as delicious and a LOT healthier (I shuddered when I read ‘sugar’ in the ingredients list, but it was too late!!).  I would suggest trying a combination of the following: paprika, cumin, oregano, chili, ground bay leaves, and a little flour or maize flour to thicken it up. You could add garlic too, I just wouldn’t as it affects my sleep.

VARIATIONS:

Sugar-free: make your own seasoning mix and wraps, or use sugar-free options from the store (if you can find them).

Gluten-free: make your own gluten-free wraps and use a thickening agent in the spice mix that is gluten-free, or use store bought options that are gluten-free.  There are quite a few on the shelves these days, so it’s worth a look.

Dairy-free / Lactose-free: this one is obvious… just leave out the yoghurt. 🙂

spicymexicanfishwraps01
Your Spicy Mexican Fish mix is ready when it forms a slightly sloppy mound in the middle of the frying pan like this…
spicymexicanfishwraps03
Ready to add your selection of favourite fresh salad toppings…
spicymexicanfishwraps02
A little bit of natural yoghurt on top is the perfect finish!
2 thoughts on “A Fish in Mexican Clothing? Spicy Fish Wraps”

  1. That sounds rather good. Love the way you take care with the instructions, and the tips on variations. Pics look yummy. Great post. Very professional. Hope to see lots more. 😊

    Like

    1. Thank you 😊 I find it easier to write recipes as blog posts rather than as just recipes- there’s always so many little things that if you leave out can be the difference between it being a success or failure for the next person trying to make it. And you know me, I love detail! 😁

      Like

Leave a Reply

